Senegal is a sovereign state in West Africa whose form of government is the semi-presidential republic. Its total area is 197,161 km2. The country borders Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, and Guinea Bissau to the south.

Senegal has a population of over 13 million, of which approximately 42% live in rural areas. 

Senegal’s trade balance is in deficit since it imports many products, especially oil and food, which represent almost 50% of its purchases. Its partners are France, India, and Italy.